Autumn message


© Clr 2014

© Clr 2014

We are right in the heart of autumn. Most of the leaves have fallen and I always am grateful to see the late-blooming trees in Spring are still peppering landscapes with a bit of gold and amber. I look out my patio window and see half the trees barren with their fallen leaves covering lawns. It is a time of year if you are lucky and it’s warm enough and sunny, you will be walking to the sound of crunchiness underfoot…gosh I love that sound!
#
It has been unusually warm for this season up to last week in the Montreal area and we seem surprised to feel the brisk damp wind force us to wear hats, scarves or at least a good lined raincoat with a hood. I prefer the hooded coat since an umbrella keeps only my upper body dry and is it such a struggle not to fly away with the wind holding onto an umbrella with both hands! So for me, all bets on a long hoody raincoat and waterproof boots.
#
The photo above was cutting through a shortcut to my work last week and it had just stopped raining so I could take my smartphone out to take a few shots.
#
This is a time of year that many feel the pressure from work to perform…yep, that performance evaluation may be coming up December or January. Youths of all ages in school, college and university are in mid-term in post secondary and younger youths are getting their first official report card. Oh boy! This is the time of year parents are sometimes surprised thinking their child/teen was doing better than they expected and some are doing great but youths are worried because their parents` demands exceed their capabilities. Yes, it is stressful alright and that is not accounting for learning difficulties, financial stress, life situations, majour moves, new schools, unemployment… Okay, that does sound a bit overwhelming but it is to prove a point…despite school and work which are very important…I get it…life happens.
#
That’s right, so if you have a good friend or family member you can talk to relieve some stress…talk to them; the children, teens and young adults have a lot to cope with EVEN if it looks like they are concerned only with video games, social networking and friends. They don`t always show how they feel or share their anxieties at home.
#
I often hear from youths who tell me, “But I can’t tell my parents how I feel, I don’t want to worry them. They do so much for me already.” Really, kids worry about their family and friends a lot too.
The days are getting shorter, we turn the clocks back an hour tonight (finally I get my hour I lost in the Spring) and many can be affected by lack of daylight and sunshine…that great Vitamin D.  Here is a link to a post I once wrote about SAD (seasonal affective disorder) if you feel like reading up more.
#
If you are anywhere in Canada, youths from five to twenty can phone 1 800 668 6868 24 hours a day to talk to a youth counsellor. All calls are free and anonymous. They can offer resources for parents too if you are looking for support.
#
Enjoy the colours while we still have some surrounding us and Happy Halloween!

© Cheryl-Lynn Roberts 2014/10/25

Anyone struggling with emotional and mental health, consider seeing your doctor or call your local Info Santé -health line (811) in Quebec
If in crisis call 1 866 appelle (277 3553) or 911
Parenting: 24 hour Parent Line – Ligne Parents 1 800 361 5085

Check my other blog for tips and resources too: Stop the Stigma

One thought on “Autumn message

Comments are closed.